Now, that’s better!

Thank you all for the good wishes.  My back is a bit better each day, and it becomes evident that the damage I did involved muscle only.  DH has been a prince, taking on those chores that involve deep bending or lifting heavy cats. He has also agreed that it is a false economy for us to purchase the large jugs of dishwasher detergent.  Next time around it will be the smallest size.  Alison suggested the detergent that comes in little one-use cubes; I’ll certainly look at those, too.

So, without further ado (Merriam Webster defines ado as time-wasting bother over trivial details…like inserting this definition) here is Cite. I wore it yesterday over my scoop-necked top and found it very comfortable. It amazes me how much difference having your neck warm can make in tolerating cool temperatures.

The pattern calls for only 200 yards of fingering weight, and suggests that you could knit it with luxury yarn without taking out a second mortgage.  This is Knit Picks Essential, which is 75% superwash Merino, 25% nylon.  There was one lonely ball of it in my stash; I was happy to find something elegant to knit.

Have you seen billboards that were blank, except for a line that said “Your ad could appear here”?  Well, my finished socks were supposed to appear here.  My plan was to do an afternoon photo shoot when the sun comes in through the glass brick wall.  The resultant pictures are true to color.  Come afternoon I was happily following a rabbit track on my computer.  All thoughts of sock pictures went right out of my head, and didn’t return until it was dark outside.  Let us hope I can remember this afternoon!

5 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    January 4, 2010 at 11:51 am

    LOVELY cowl!!! And yes, we have to consider that smaller is better when backs are a problem. I’m glad you’re better!!!
    (((hugs)))

  2. margene said,

    January 4, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Thank goodness your back is feeling better. The cowl is gorgeous…well done!

  3. dragonsnlace said,

    January 4, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Well well well that’s quite attractive. Glad your back is feeling better.

  4. Debby said,

    January 5, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I’m glad you’re feeling better now! The lace cowl is just lovely. Looking forward to your sock photos!

  5. Laura Gallagher said,

    January 19, 2010 at 2:36 am

    We love the little cube bag-things of dishwasher detergent. Also makes it very easy for the kids to start the dishwasher – Maggie can manage all on her own now.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

