My Santas

I collect Santas – but not little statues.  Mine are cross stitch charts, the Prairie Schooler Santa series.   The link will show you this year’s Santa, and if you click on the red years available at the bottom of the page you can see previous Santas.

I believe I have them all.  The first two charts were purchased from a cross stitch shop near my home and stitched as a Christmas gift for Mother.  (I was hooked!)  The shop moved a few miles away, and there I purchased the next two years.  That shop closed its doors, and for a number of years we made a pilgrimage to Accents in Stitches in Kenner, LA (near the New Orleans Airport) for the Prairie Schooler fix.  We generally made a day of it, and I typically purchased a year’s worth of cross stitch supplies.  Finally, we have a cross stitch shop in Baton Rouge once more, and the pilgrimage is no longer an all-day outing.

DH and I mused as we flipped through the collection this morning that the early charts were $1.  One year doubled the cost to (gasp!) $2, then the price hovered at $3 for many years.  This newest one is $4.  DH, as Patron of the Arts, says he’s good for the cost.

Dear Patron has made another valuable contribution to my collection.  Each year I present him with the current chart on a 5 x 7 card.  In due time he will scan it for me (after all, he knows I have many to choose from should I be overcome with an urgent need to cross stitch Santa).  Then I’ll discover on my desk, like an early Christmas present, the original chart and the scanned copy enlarged to full-page size.  They go together in a page protector and then the collection notebook.

It’s a great life!

4 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    December 21, 2009 at 9:46 am

    You know? I love hearing about your Patron of the Arts. He’s obviously a very special guy…and your Santas are adorable.

    I did a collection of some of the angels for a bit…but stopped when I realized that I’d probably never be able to see them well enough to do them again. Still…lately, I’ve pulled out the X-stitch supplies again (I have the 3 Cats, Baskets, & Quilts from Country Cross Stitch and Crafts magazine partially done, except for the Siamese…you know which one I want to do, right?) :)
    (((hugs)))

  2. bookwormblue said,

    December 21, 2009 at 10:34 am

    I love the 2002 Santa. You knew I would , didn’t you? It was a lot of fun to look through the designs still available. I can see why you collect them, besides just liking old-fashioned Santas. So many of Santa’s yearly hobbies remind me of you!

  3. AlisonH said,

    December 21, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Your husband is wonderful!

  4. Jennifer said,

    December 24, 2009 at 4:26 am

    Very cute! That’s a great idea to enlarge them. My vision is not what it used to be and I think I’ll have to use your trick to finish a cross stitch stocking for my boy. Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

