Minty Fresh Socks on a budget

I’m not much of a gambler, but at $8.60, how wrong could I be about this yarn?  It’s from the Deborah Norville collection, Serenity Sock Weight, and is 50% wool, 25% bamboo, 25% nylon.  Hobby Lobby had it for $4.29 a 50 gram/230 yard skein.

Now that I’ve finished a pair of simple socks, I can report that it was a very satisfactory knit. Neither skein had any knots.  The color printing was predictable and accurate across the skeins.  I was able to start each cuff at the same place in the color repeat, and then have identical heels and gussets. There was no pooling at all.  The only variation occurred as I tapered the second toe, but by then, who cares?  The socks are soft and comfy, and knitting them as my “purse knitting” was a mindless pleasure.

What, you didn’t think I could manage a finished object photo shoot without Meezer assistance, did you?  Minky managed to come supervise this picture. As I look at her picture, I’m struck by how much the prolonged use of high-dose steroids to manage her asthma has lightened her back legs and tail.  However, her medicines have kept her out of distress and happy.  Minky is my companion cat, and she will always be my beauty!

 

3 Comments

  1. gladerider said,

    November 25, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    You kitty is sooo cute! Yeah, I originally came on here looking for knitting blogs, but your cat kindo ftook my mind off the socks! But hey, they rock too! Actually, that wool is pretty awesome, I will have to see if the wool store near me sells it, cos I want some socks like that!(says the girl who’s only knitted one of a pair of socks for herself to date:D)

  2. AlisonH said,

    November 25, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    And did you paint the walls to match her subconsciously? They really set off her colors!

    Very nice socks. Very nice. I have some yarn demanding to be socks, and I keep telling it hush, not your turn.

  3. Knitnana said,

    November 27, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Oh my she IS a beauty. Ok, the socks are terrific, too…but you knew I’d have to mention Minky first, right?
    *wink*
    The breeders all try to keep the kitties light. Even putting sweaters on them. (HA! The Meezer made an unholy fuss when I tried that!)

    Those socks are really terrific…and you’re right, who cares if there’s a touch of variation in the toe?
    (((hugs)))


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

