Small town civility

I was so proud of this little town today.  You see, when I was a child I knew that if a funeral procession came into view, my Grandpa Carl would pull the car to the right, stop, take his fedora off (what, you think he left home without one?), place it over his heart until the last car had passed, and pray for the deceased.  It was the right thing to do.

This morning I was headed out to do some errands when I saw the approach of a funeral cortege.  We were on a 4-lane street, so there was no question of it being able to pass unobstructed.  Much to my surprise, 14 cars pulled to the right and stopped until the entire procession had passed.   I had thought the custom had been forgotten in today’s society.  Grandpa Carl would have been proud today,  too!

5 Comments

  1. Bonne Marie said,

    November 12, 2009 at 7:10 am

    I’m touched and proud from far away — that is something I was taught and try to do always as well…

  2. Laura Gallagher said,

    November 12, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Thanks for posting that, Mom. It made me realize that although I’ve taught Maggie about pulling over for ambulances and firetrucks and such, I hadn’t taught her about this. We almost never see funeral processions, and I don’t think I’ve seen one with her in the car with me, at least not in the last few years. So I read your story to her this morning before she left for her bus stop. She was quite interested. (And a little confused – had to explain no, her Daddy was not named after Grandpa Carl.)

  3. margene said,

    November 12, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Our streets are so wide that it rarely happens on main roads…what a beautiful way to honor a person even if you’d never met.

  4. Knitnana said,

    November 12, 2009 at 10:33 am

    I had not heard of that! Thank you for the education!
    (((hugs)))

  5. AlisonH said,

    November 12, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Wow. Pulling over and out of the way, I’d heard of and done. This I like! Thank you for teaching me something new and good.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

