A New Venture

Yesterday was the first day of class for Education for Ministry (EFM).  It’s  a four-year program designed to help Christian lay people prepare to be active participants in the whole ministry of the church.  The curriculum comes from the Sewanee School of Theology of The University of the South, but is taught in small, local groups.

Year one, which covers Old Testament, requires the most study time.  Yesterday, when I got home with my books, I told DH “This could seriously cut in to my knitting time!”  Knitting will continue for my sanity, but finished objects will be displayed less frequently.  I considered shutting down the blog — for about 3 seconds.  It was clear I would miss y’all too much.

Time to share some pictures!  Last weekend, around noon, I looked out the keeping room windows and saw the tall ships in port. The Canadian geese were in procession down our lake.  A tradesman that comes to our house told us he believes they live on a lake a few miles from ours.  I counted, and again saw 13 geese, the same number I saw in the Spring, so I believe he is correct. Evidently, it was just a “road trip” for the geese; I haven’t seen them since their Saturday visit.

Here’s to a lovely weekend for  you, filled with lots of knitting and no frogs.

4 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    August 21, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Congrats – happy studying!
    Is it time for the ducks to begin their departure? Oh is that a few weeks off yet?
    (((hugs)))

  2. AlisonH said,

    August 21, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Beautiful!

  3. dragonsnlace said,

    August 25, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Good luck with your program.

  4. Birdsong said,

    August 25, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I suggest you take easy projects with you to class as a way to make sure you get your knitting in…that way, you can still have notepaper on the table, stop and jot things down, but can knit happily away during the parts where notetaking isn’t needed. I have made it through at least 24 units of early childhood classes that way:) Best of luck on your studies!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

