A Finished Object Returns Home

Yesterday I picked up the completed framing of the Summer Garden sampler.  In fact, I was so excited that I made an extra trip to Baton Rouge to retrieve it.  (You’ve heard of giving up things for Lent?  I was supposed to give up frequent trips to Baton Rouge for gas prices. Sorry, DH.)

Several of you have written that you’d like to see the framed sampler, so here it is. I fell in love with this sampler because it reminded me of my grandmother’s lovely gardens.  At the back of the yard was a white picket fence with an archway gate.  Growing against the fence were Chrysler Imperial roses – deep red with a marvelous, rich perfume.  Many years my birthday picture was taken out there, with the cake on a pedestal table beside me.

The key to the wall grouping is in that memory.  You see, the upper frame contains the handwritten recipe for my grandmother’s white cake.  She kept that a close secret during her lifetime; I received the recipe as an inheritance.  Her cakes were amazing – the cakes on Ace of Cakes always make me think of her.

What would be on your wall, were we to capture your passions of life?

7 Comments

  1. wendy g said,

    July 30, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Love the sampler and I know how much work went into it. The wall grouping is wonderful especially with the recipe.

  2. Knitnana said,

    July 30, 2009 at 8:39 am

    I’m so glad you posted – what a lovely framing job she did for your elegant stitches…I am enamoured of your wall grouping. For years, I’ve worked on how I’d display my Dad’s photography and the plaques that remain from the prizes he won for it (the trophys long gone). I would have used the original black and whites he created in his own darkroom. Along with them, I’d frame his handwritten beer recipe.

    My sister, thinking she was being helpful, had the photos all redone and framed by a cousin in her business, and while that’s interesting, the “newness” of the work just distracts (and perhaps detracts) in my mind. Oh well. I’m sure I can pass the new ones on, right?

  3. AlisonH said,

    July 30, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    That is absolutely beautiful! Cool.

    Family. Friends. Writing. Knitting. Pictures of the deep woods back home, or maybe the C&O Canal, with the lovely Potomac River in the background.

  4. bookwormblue said,

    July 31, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Pictures of my family.(Cats, of course, included.) Maybe pages from books I have loved, or even a page from the screenplay I finished this year. Sheet music?

  5. dragonsnlace said,

    July 31, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Pretty! I’d love to have a handwritten anything from my great-grandma. I do have a piece of her furniture, a quilt, a crocheted blanket and a few doilies I intend to have framed – so I guess I should be happy!

    I BELIEVE I’ve fixed the email issue. Sorry about that.

  6. Linda said,

    August 1, 2009 at 4:45 am

    Lovely sampler, and great idea to frame the recipe. I’ll have to keep that in mind.

    My grandmother had a sour cream chocolate cake recipe that is *fabulous*. My mom made two in the five weeks I was home this summer, and I want to try to figure out a Nairobi version.

  7. Debby said,

    August 3, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    Your sampler is so incredibly beautiful. Thank you for sharing it with us! I’m sure DH will understand this necessary trip. :)

    I am fortunate to have a lot of old photographs of my family, including some of relatives in Italy, that are displayed throughout our home. Those, along with some of my husband’s photos, particularly ones he took of the ocean or sunsets, are very precious to me! I do have some of my great-grandmother’s needlework too, but I think it would be awkward to frame as some of the pieces are large.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

