A Quiet Weekend

Although Garrison Keeler always begins his monologue   “It’s been a quiet week in Lake Woebegone”, you know he’ll have much to report.  Quiet in small town America can equal good, peaceful, trouble-free.  It is far superior to the latest crime beat news from big city America.

Our quiet weekend was spent enjoying scenes like this: 

That’s mid-day siesta in the birch tree shade.  Remember those little ducklings?  My, how they’ve grown!

They are accompanied by their guardian, the “watch goose”.  Notice that all the flock except the watch goose is facing the lake.  She is prepaired to face down any foe that might aproach by land.

Since my last post I have completed my Summer Garden sampler and taken it and its frame (as shown in the link) to my framer.  This is a departure for me; I normally choose a frame stock and have the frame custom made.  The cross stitch store had assured me there would be no problem using a purchased frame.

Not so, my friends!  The dear lady who does such beautiful work said she no longer stretches cross stitch for framing if she wasn’t making the frame herself – it was just too much work.  I said “Oh, dear!  I don’t know who else I would trust with my work!”  As we talked on, and she did allow that it was a lovely frame for the sampler, she said “I don’t have much needlework in shop now, and since it is you, I’ll do it.”  Thank heavens I have used her exclusively to frame my samplers in the past.  She had once remarked that it was a pleasure to work with my samplers because I didn’t have a “rat’s nest” on the back.

Much Christmas knitting was achieved this weekend, thanks to our own, personal film festival.  DH and I decided that we would watch all the previous Harry Potter films on DVD before seeing the new release in the theater.  We have enjoyed spending the time together instead of geeking out at our computers.  Also, by catching up this way we avoided the weekend theater rush.  Come about Wednesday we should be up to date and ready for a theater night.  I won’t try to take my knitting to that one, though.  It’s too big a risk – the floors are just too sticky!

2 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    July 20, 2009 at 10:33 am

    The ducks! OH!! Cute…and the watch goose is amazing…
    Can’t wait to see the sampler all framed!
    (((hugs)))

  2. AlisonH said,

    July 22, 2009 at 11:27 am

    She sounds like a dear. Enjoy your movies!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

