Ooh, a package!

Recently Margene at Zeneedle had a comment contest in which she marked the even hundreds of comments as the total approached 50,000.  That’s a lot of blogging/reading/commenting!  I was fortunate enough to be one of the winners.

Then sadness entered the blog, as Margene posted a brief note that tragedy had come to her family, and she’d be back after a while.  We could only pray for God to hold her family in his arms. When Margene was ready to blog about the tragedy, we learned that her great-niece, Charlotte, had died at the very tender age of 15 months.

Life trumps blogs, folks, and in such sad circumstances I expected the contest to be canceled.  Yet Margene values her friends, and sent an email that she would be shipping my prize shortly. She had inquired about my favorite colors and treats.  (Never met a blue or green I didn’t love.  Treat = tea, and here I don’t care for green – go figure!)   Yesterday it arrived!

LSU is playing in the College World Series, so my description may sound a bit like play-by-play.  That’s a three-base hit, Bob.  On first base is Soft Spun, out of Brooklyn Handspun.  It’s wearing the team colors “Winter’s Welcome”, blue/green/white. This is one cushy yarn, and the fans just love it!

On second base is Tarajulie, a strong slugger of black tea.  Tarajulie’s hitting record is for a nice, heavy-bodied, malty, sweet cup of tea.

On third base, waiting to steal home and the hearts of the fans, is Sunshine.  This soap is from blessed juno, and is a real star of the team with essential oils of orange, tangerine, lemon, lime, and litsea cubeba.  Sunshine is superfatted with shea butter, and can throw as well as bat.

Thank you, Margene, for such a lovely prize package.  My cats were fascinated with the soap fragrance, by the way.  I forsee much hand washing, followed by kitty hand washing.

Oh, did you miss the game last night?  I now have only 12 rows to go on the two-color section of Ulmus, and LSU has one game to go to be the College World Series champ.   Second game tonight – knit on!

5 Comments

  1. margene said,

    June 23, 2009 at 9:19 am

    You make me feel as if I hit a grand slam! Isn’t the Terajulie good tea? It’s been a base hit with me for a long time. Enjoy, my friend and thank you for your kind comments for my family.

  2. Knitnana said,

    June 23, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Margene is just about the sweetest knit blogger around, I think. What a wonderful prize!
    (and I can’t wait to see Ulmus!)
    (((Hugs)))

  3. AlisonH said,

    June 24, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Goodness. Life.

  4. wendy g said,

    June 25, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Love the yarn and I know you will turn it into something beautiful!

  5. tina said,

    June 25, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    What a kind blogger your friend Margene is, I add my thoughts prayers and good wishes to yours.

    Now——- your blog post was SO cute, entertaining and clever as can be. LOVED IT!

    I’m hoping to get home from work early today to log a little knitting or it will be a swing and a miss for me!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

