Who, me?

Yes, I know I’ve been unusually quiet.  I’ve been over here, on the sofa, knitting.  For the record, the Easter Monkey socks are done.  I won’t bore you with another picture…it looks just like the first one. . . and that’s good.

Unfortunately, for my total number of projects, I continued to read blogs.  Oh, the wonderful things my friends are knitting.  I succumbed to Ulmus, by Kirsten Kapur.  Choosing the yarn for this shawl required two day’s research.  I read all the Ravelry’s KAL posts, saw everyone’s color choices, and diligently searched the on-line yarn shops.  As is often the case, I fell in love with one color, Persia. Then the difficulty was finding a contrasting color to play second-fiddle.  I finally settled on Indiecita, the color the designer used for background/lace in her example. It looks much “bluer” in person.

I had to order from two yarn shops to get these two colors.  Both shipped promptly, but while I waited… from my closet came this small, sock-yarn voice, “Pick me!  Pick me!”  It was the Down Home Art Yarns Sock, in Riverbed, by Ray at knitivity. (Click the link for his excellent colorway photo.)  I personally think of this colorway as “Siamese Cat”.  It was purchased as Ray began again after Hurricane Ike, and has been waiting, patiently, for just the right pattern.  (You’ll have to humor us in Louisiana.  We tend to tell time by hurricanes.)   Let me just say that I love Ray’s yarns, and wholeheartedly recommend them to you.

The KAL spoke of colorwheel oposites, so I tried some Lorna’s Laces butterscotch, orange across from blue.  It wasn’t a pretty picture, dear readers; you’ll not have to look upon that combination.  Frogged! Then I remembered the generous skein of Knit Picks Bare in my sock yarn stash.  It played nice, indeed. As of last night, my Ulmus has 22 ever-increasing rows until I get to play with the lace section.  I’m happy!

The collective wisdom of the Ulmus KAL is that you can’t knit just one.  I do plan to knit the Malabrigo yarn, just as soon as this one is off my needles.  After all, this is my first Malabrigo!

2 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    June 22, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Definitely Meezer colors! And it’s beautiful!!! (I’m sure the malabrigo will be too, but you had me at Meezer…)
    (((hugs)))

  2. AlisonH said,

    June 24, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Ooh, ooh, pretty…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

