The Easter Monkey

I’ve taken a fancy to the Easter Monkey.  No candy or eggs were involved.  There wasn’t even any fake grass!

Actually, I cast on a pair of Monkeys between services on the Second Sunday of Easter.  (For my friends who belong to non-liturgical churches, Easter is a season of the church year, and runs until Pentecost.)  The yarn is Morandia’s MIB Fibers in “Close to Pastel”, purchased from the Knitting Asylum.

I was struck by how much they looked like an Easter confection.  They were, from early on in the first cuff, my Easter Monkeys.

The first sock was finished before our Disney vacation.  The second sock has languished, partly due to the fact that this is my third pair of Monkeys. (One other pair for me, one given as a gift.) The novelty has worn off, even more than one might expect on the second sock.  I have made progress since vacation, though:  the cuff, heel, and gusset are completed now.  There’s nothing left but racing (crawling?) for the toe.

Monkeys tend to be a bit snug on the foot for me in the 64-stitch cast on, but that size is dandy for the cuff.  I have developed a technique for expanding the foot that I’d like to share with you.  When I decrease the gusset stitches, I don’t take the heel side of the sock all the way back down to the original count (32 stitches in the case of a 64 stitch cast on).  If I decrease to 36 stitches for the sole and 32 stitches on the instep needle I get the extra room needed for my bunion.  When the sock is long enough, I do a decrease round on the sole needle only, a plain round, and another sole decrease, and one more plain round before I begin my standard toe.  The finished product looks like a proper sock, and fits so much better.

The Monkeys get to go in the car with me, while the larger sweater projects remain behind.  They went to Knit Night at the Asylum last Thursday, and the admiration they received encouraged some knit progress.  I’ll take them to my eye appointment this afternoon.  Perhaps I should get out more, if I want to finish these socks.

6 Comments

  1. Courtney said,

    June 8, 2009 at 9:13 am

    I love the yarn you’re using for those Monkeys! So pretty!!

  2. Knitnana said,

    June 8, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    LOVE the colors! And yes, it’s good that you can make adjustments in the sole and around bunions (or bunionettes as the case may be). :)
    (((HUGS)))

  3. AlisonH said,

    June 8, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Oh cool! Easter egg dyeing memories wrapped into socks. An egg darner in their eventual future after being loved much?

  4. qtallyson said,

    June 9, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    What fun yarn! It looks great in the cables!

  5. AlisonH said,

    June 10, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Okay, so my hubby says, That’s a sock! See how good I am at this knitting thing?

    Silly hubby…

  6. wendy g said,

    June 16, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Love the Monkeys! What a pretty colorway too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

