A rude surprise

The second pair of footies has been completed, but not without a rude surprise.  First, I should say that the knitting modifications I made (changing the ribbing from 3/4″ to 1″, and starting the white for the toe at the point of beginning the toe decreases) were very satisfactory.  In fact, the first footie was just fine.

Then I began knitting what has come to be known as “the evil twin”.  I must protest that I did not deviate from my protocols.  It was the yarn’s fault, entirely!

Although you have to look closely to tell that they are even cousins, both footies came from the same skein of yarn (Fortissima Colori Socka Color, Disco, #9051).  The second was begun directly after the first (I did not fiddle around trying for identical status.)  What a terrible dye job!

Now, for the happy ending:  Because it was part of a grab bag purchase, I don’t have a lot of money invested in this yarn.  It has been marinating in my stash for several years.  Unless you have some put away, too, the odds are small that you will come across this yarn.

These are perfectly functional footies that are intended to be worn inside athletic shoes.  Only the cuffs will show.  It’s certainly a good thing I wasn’t working on something fancy, eh?

3 Comments

  1. April 27, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Actually, I really like the fact that they are different! It adds interest. Matching socks are boring! =-)

  2. April 27, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Well, you know… I was once wearing my pair of Deliberately MisMatched Socks (I think is the trademarked name), where the colorways are inverted from one to the other, and some woman stopped me just before she got into her Mercedes (hair perfectly coiffed, nicely dressed, yadda yadda) and yelled at me, “Lady. LADY! Your socks don’t match!!!” She sounded outraged.

    I answered her, Yeah, isn’t it cool? I bought them this way!

    It was like, here was a fad she hadn’t heard of and wasn’t in on yet, and she demanded to know where I’d gotten them. “At a knitting convention in Baltimore.”

    Okay, that was just too far out there for her and she waved me away with a pfft and look of disgust. It was SO funny.

    In other words, I like yours!

  3. Knitnana said,

    April 28, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I’m all for matchy – matchy, as you know, but there are times when it doesn’t matter – and this is one of them – Inside the tennis? Forgaboutdit!
    (You did a great job improvising…)
    (((hugs)))


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

