New shoes and a lightbulb moment

Ever since the bunion surgery turned out to be a failure I’ve been searching for comfy, wider shoes.  Did you know that New Balance shoes are available in multiple widths, and combination lasts?  (A combination last might include a wide toe box and average to narrow heel.)  To my knowledge, they are the only brand out there making athletic shoes in these sizes.

Two years ago I bought a wide toe, narrow heel New Balance, and it was love.  Unfortunately, the bunion has progressed, and the shoes I loved two years ago are comfy for only an hour or two.  I thought that was the best I could hope for until the New Balance store’s anniversary sale flier arrived.  Dudes, they have extra, extra wide shoes!  I went down, told them the model I had worn, and asked to try their “wider than any normal foot could need” shoe.  I wore my Jaywalker socks to the shoe store, and the new shoes felt wonderful over them.  Best of all, this model shoe has a mesh bit where my bunion sticks out, instead of a reinforcing leather strap.

Today I wore capris, the new shoes, and commercial cotton tennis socks.  My feet hurt!  Here’s the lightbulb moment:  when my daughters were babies we were taught to be as vigilant about sock sizes as we were about shoe sizes.  Too small a sock could damage growing feet as much as too small shoes.  These cotton footies were too small!  OK, so it was still a dim bulb moment, because my first inclination was to see if I could find larger-than-average size cotton footies.  About two hours later, the thought crystalized that even if I could find larger socks, they would just be longer, not longer and wider. What a shame I couldn’t get the wonderful fit I have with my handknit wool socks!

Finally I got it!  I burrowed in my stash and found a multi-color 50 gram ball and some white yarn.  I cast on 72 stitches for my wide feet (no need to worry about fitting my average size ankles this time), knit a 2 X 2 rib for 3/4 inch, stockingette for another inch, and changed to white for my usual flap heel.  So far I’m loving it.  I don’t think that even with the contrasting heels and toes there will be enough multi-color for a pair of footies.  However, I do have a “fraternal” ball from the same company.  Since these socks will be mostly hidden by my shoes, it doesn’t matter.

If this works out as well as I think it will, I will be on a tear to get a summer’s worth of footies knit.

4 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    April 22, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Yay for comfort! When it comes to our feet, it makes such a difference….

    Do you reinforce your sock heels?
    (((hugs)))

  2. koto-chan said,

    April 22, 2009 at 9:15 am

    I’m sorry that your feet have been hurting so much! I hope that the new comfy socks will do the trick.

  3. Marsha said,

    April 22, 2009 at 11:45 am

    I can see that light bulb shining from here!!

  4. April 22, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    And this is why I love my various Birkis: I can get them wide enough for my 6.5 EEs. I was born with snowshoes for feet. Anyway, good luck, and I’m glad you found sneakers that actually feel good. I know how hard that can be!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

