Knitting news from the lakeside

I have made much knitting progress here this weekend.  First, the Basic Cabled Sock is now a finished object. (Sounds of finished object dance, happy, happy!) The pattern was easy to work with, making it a good project to carry in my purse.  The Fleece Artist Somoko (65% merino, 20% kid mohair, 10% nylon, and 5% silk) was beautifully dyed and yummy to knit with.

The socks are a beautiful, rich brown (colorway Midnight), which makes it difficult to show you the cable detail.  Here I have fiddled with the exposure to show the cable.  The color is true in the first picture, though.

Swing Swing has gotten a lot of knit time while I listen to books (book note to follow).  I got into a bit of a defensive mode as I neared the bottom of the sweater body. There were five skeins left, and  I still needed  to knit both sleeves, finish the neck, and hopefully add a little more length to the body.  I removed the Knit Picks needle tips,  put on cable caps, and placed the remaining yarn in a sandwich bag.  The yarn then was pinned to the bottom of the sweater for ease in handling. The A-line of the bottom of the sweater doesn’t show because it is contained by the cable caps.  Once released it will flare out the way the sleeve does.

Now that I have knit one sleeve, which took a skein and a half, I am encouraged that I will have enough yarn.  However, I shant be foolish:  I’ll do the second sleeve and neck before lengthening the body.

Audio books have added much joy to my weekend, and made the knitting fly.  Thanks to a tip in an AARP Bulletin, I went looking for Overdrive Media.  It is a free, down-loadable book service, like the Audiobooks one could purchase.  There was a link to search for libraries in your area that offer Overdrive, and oh, joy, mine does!

My first download was Death of a Witch by M. C. Beaton.  It’s a Hamish Macbeth mystery, and the reader does a fine job of bringing all the characters to life.  I just loved being read to while I knit, so I also heard  Debbie Macomber’s Twenty Wishes (book 4 in the Blossom Street series).  It did not disappoint!  In fact, I have an e-hold on book 5, which is to be available May 1.

4 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    April 20, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Yay, socks! I love Fleece Artist’s colors. And I really like that sweater, and have added it to my queue.

  2. Knitnana said,

    April 20, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    That’s a lotta cables!! The blue is especially pretty!
    (((hugs)))

  3. Birdsong said,

    April 20, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    You are one productive sock knitter! I love the color of your new cardi, and imagine it will drape elegantly.

  4. April 21, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Beautiful work–I have some Somoko in my stash… I’m tempted. And I don’t even knit socks.


Leave a comment