Little things mean a lot

My left upper arm (deltoid area) has been really painful for almost two weeks.  I’ve been using heat and pain meds, and spent many hours in the early a.m. in the recliner because I couldn’t sleep.  I knew that other knitters had reported arm pain from knitting in chairs with arms that forced them to raise their shoulders, so I had been careful to scoot away from the arm of the sofa when I knit.  Still, the problem persisted.

DH and I have identical desk chairs, and they are super for back support.  Mine has been wonderful as a sewing chair, too.   The arms of the chairs adjust, but I have a short body, and the shortest position of the arms is still too high for me.  I’m suspicious that the chair arms are, if not the cause, at least a large factor in my continued arm pain.  I mouse left-handed, and can’t avoid the arm rest when I sit at my computer.

Having said that, I should admit that the chairs are at least two years old.  Could this be a Ravelry injury?  I know I use my computer more than ever.  So why haven’t I done something about it?  I thought I might be able to take the arm rests off, but would end up with amputated stumps of armrest that I would repeatedly hurt myself on (you know I would).  DH to the rescue!  He went out to his workbench and got his set of Allen wrenches, and removed the entire arm assemblies.  Now I have the ultimate secretary’s chair, as modeled by Minky.  Torrie heard the photo shoot, and me speaking to Minky.  Supervision was required!  How could we proceed without her? 

This tutorial hasn’t been the usual “knitting technology”, but it certainly has been a case of technology interfering with my knitting.

3 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    February 9, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Good save, there…hope that fixes the problem…What beauties your meezers are!!!
    (((Hugs)))

  2. tripplex5663 said,

    February 2, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Excellent post. I want to thank you for this informative read, I really appreciate sharing this great post. Keep up your work. Loveland CO Chiropractor Loveland CO Chiropractic

    • meezermeowmy said,

      February 2, 2011 at 11:29 am

      Thank you – glad to be of assistance. I recently found these pictures again, and wondered why I had taken pictures of the chair in the hall. You’ve given me a morning smile!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

