Musical Compulsion

I’m compulsive about reading music.  Tonight, I was at a holiday party that had a gift exchange game.  Each person drew a number from the bag.  Mine happened to be on a slip of paper that had some music printed in the corner.  It was some time before I noticed what number I drew, because I was trying to work out what song this music fragment represented.  Was it really music, or just some artist’s idea of a pleasing graphic?  (Yes, I think it was music; no, I didn’t recognize it.)

One year Mother gave me a license plate frame for my car.  It featured a treble staff music line, and the words “Staff Car”.  When I played the music, it turned out to be “Oh, we ain’t got a barrel of money”…the first line of Side by Side.

Now, I’ve shared my compulsion.  Next time you see music wrapping paper, or note pads, or whatever, I challenge you to check out the tune.

3 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    January 1, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    That’s a fun one. When I was a regular proofreader, I was compulsive about proofing everything from billboard signs to menus. Not nearly as fun… and a bit annoying. Thankfully (and obviously) I no longer proof. Hehehehe.

    Happy 2009!

  2. Birdsong said,

    January 1, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    I can no longer read music as well as when I was young, but will think of YOU every time I see music on paper! Happy New Year.

  3. AlisonH said,

    January 3, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Oh cool! Somebody else who does that! And to Jennifer up there, I once worked as a copy editor and I still proof everything that goes past my eyes, automatically, whether I want to or not.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

