And now, the beauty shot!

It’s a finished object!  FO dance, FO dance!

Last night I didn’t think I would make it.  The designer called for changing back to the larger needles for the last row of the ribbing of the button band, and for the bind off.  I, sheep that I am, gave it a try.  You can guess what resulted:  a ruffle!  Not what my DH envisioned for his Christmas sweater, I can tell you!  So I tinked all those stitches, re-did the buttonholes to a tidier version, reknit the rows, and bound off.  The buttons got sewn on at 2 pm, and the picture shoot was on. (I’d have finished sooner, but DH was willing to do the winter pruning on my rose bushes, and wanted me to consult on how ruthless he should be.  Show no mercy!  Prune those bushes!)

Further news was received today about my Christmas knitting.  Dear Father-in-law called to thank us for the mittens.  He had been trying to tough it out using the snowblower without gloves, because he couldn’t get his gnarled hands into a pair.  Dad said he had been ready to drive to the cities to look for some mittens, when his gift arrived in the mail.  He reported that his hands didn’t get cold with the mittens on…could I possibly knit a second pair?  Oh, yes!   (Compare that to those ungrateful recipients of knitware we’ve all read about.)  In fact, I have 100 grams of the maroon superwash left from DH’s sweater.  Cast on time!

7 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    December 20, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Wow! Pruning bushes, modeling the sweater AND he appreciates handknit mittens?!? That’s quite some guy you got there. Love the sweater. It looks absolutely perfect.

  2. AlisonH said,

    December 20, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    COOL!!!

  3. Linda said,

    December 21, 2008 at 2:31 am

    That looks great! Congrats!

  4. Marsha said,

    December 21, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Look at that handsome dude! Job well done on all counts, and rose bushes pruned to boot :)

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  5. colin said,

    December 22, 2008 at 10:18 am

    This is an excellent cardigan and I especially like the collar.

  6. margene said,

    December 22, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Beautifully knit! He must love it.

  7. Knitnana said,

    December 22, 2008 at 11:34 am

    What a gorgeous sweater – and a dashing model, too, hon!

    And yes, I think that phone call from Dad-in-Law is perfect! Knit that man more mittens!!!
    CONGRATULATIONS!!!
    (((hugs)))


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

