Oh, but they’re warm!

When I was being admitted to the hospital for my recent surgery I obediently changed into their tie-in-back duds, and asked if I might wear my wool socks.
“Oh, no,” the nurse answered.  “Here, I have some footies with non-slip treads.  They’re warm.

You know the rest:  they were a knitted fleecy fabric, as cold as the exam table.  The cuff was elastic, and cut into my ankles like a boa constrictor.  (I can’t imagine what they would do to someone with puffy ankles!)

The best part of recovery was getting to put on my own wool socks again.  You all should own a pair of commercial socks–put them on when you are discouraged with your sock knitting.  The experience will send you right back to knitting that second sock with fervor!

3 Comments

  1. AlisonH said,

    November 24, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Hospital footies are only designed for keeping your feet away from contact with the floor and keeping your bod away from contact with the floor via slipping. And keeping the hospital’s liability away from them.

    But they do show by the contrast how wonderful a handknit sock is!

  2. Knitnana said,

    November 24, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Sigh. I will not go back in the hospital….I will not go back in the hospital…I will not go back in the hospital.

    (I remember those socks)
    (((Hugs)))

  3. Jennifer said,

    November 25, 2008 at 7:19 am

    People say the funniest things. But deep down, perhaps she really didn’t want you to lose your lovely handknit socks. Hope all went well. Keep those toes warm.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

