Wrapping up my summer knitting

Yesterday I finished the second sock of the last pair that I cast on for Summer of Socks 08.  I didn’t feel a lot of pressure to finish it before the deadline because I did have another pair completed in that time period.  As you know, knitters can be a fickle lot.  I walked away from socks and picked up shawls after that intense summer of sock knitting.  Meanwhile, the second sock of this pair languished in my knitting bag.  The poor thing was ready for its heel flap, and there it was abandoned.    Fortunately, there is something about the approaching autumn that encourages knitters to finish up their languishing knitting…and so I did.

This is the pattern that Debi Leshin created, Crystals ‘Combs and Cables Socks. I knit it in Cherry Tree Hill Sockittome, Misty Moor from the Loopy Ewe.  I found the perfect beads for the cuff, but the first knitting was doomed.  The cuff seemed loose, and the lace pattern seemed tight.  Version #2 replaced beads with 1 x 1 ribbing, and knit the lace with #2 needles.  I like a firmly-knit sole, so the sole and toes were knit with #1 needles.  Kudos to Wendy Johnson, whose blog, Wendy Knits, suggested this technique for well-fitted socks.

1 Comment

  1. AlisonH said,

    September 19, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    They’re beautiful socks! On a chilly morning here, handknit socks is the perfect thing. I love how yours came out.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

