Grow your own dentist

Several years ago, at about this time of year, I broke a molar by crunching down on Jordan almonds.  Dentistry could no longer be avoided.  However, DH’s dental insurance now required that we choose a dentist from their approved list.  I didn’t know any of the dentists, so I chose one whose office was closer to my home.

When I arrived, the entire office staff was decked out in LSU purple and gold in honor of the upcoming football game.  The dentist was talking football with his assistant as they set up for my x-rays.

Now, I had attended many LSU football games, but not as a fan.  You see, the local chapter of the American Red Cross mans the dozen first aide stations in the stadium.   It is a popular way to volunteer because each volunteer is responsible for being in their assigned first aide station for one quarter of the game, and may watch the rest of the game.  (Of course, if all hell breaks loose, its all hands on deck.)  Teamed up with these first aiders are the ham radio club guys and gals who provide communications, and the Boy Scouts who form squads of stretcher bearers.

I progressed through the years from first aider to station manager to co-captain (one of two Red Cross supervisors for the whole stadium).  Other first-aiders liked working with me because I wasn’t familiar with the SEC.  I didn’t know if any given opponent was a push-over or a big rival.  (DH and I went to school in the Big Ten.)  So here was the deal I offered my co-workers:  I get to see the pre-game show and the half-time.  You can see the game, but I will get to see the band. They were happy, I was happy.

Back to the dentist – I felt obliged to chime in on this LSU football love-fest, so I told about the  time LSU was playing Tennessee.  Tennessee brought two runners who had competed in track at the Olympics, and done quite well.  One of them received the kick-off near his own goal line, and preceded to run it all the way back down the field for a touchdown.  It was beautiful – like watching a gazelle run!  I said so, and the drunk in front of me almost punched me out!

The dentist said, “I was there that game.  I was working as a stretcher bearer in the student section.”

I said “And I was supervising you!”  One of my Boy Scouts had grown up to be my new dentist!

3 Comments

  1. Marsha said,

    September 17, 2008 at 7:24 am

    How cool is that…..just goes to show that you never know who or how people rotate in and out of your life….and back again!

  2. AlisonH said,

    September 17, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Oh, how cool is that!

    My husband would have been doing double-duty between Red Cross and the ham radio volunteers–that’s what he does in his free time over here.

  3. Jennifer said,

    September 18, 2008 at 5:54 am

    Awww – I love a good Boy Scout story.


Leave a comment