Fat Man’s Misery

As a child I visited the Wisconsin Dells with my family. We took the traditional boat trip to the sandstone formations, and walked through a narrow opening called Fat Man’s Misery. I remember that I was worried about getting stuck in the rock (thanks, Mr. Tour Guide!). I wasn’t anywhere near big enough to wedge myself, but my mental image was.

So it is, after a lifetime of being the “big girl”, that Fat Girl’s Misery is a formal portrait…until today. Today I have agreed, stepped forward when asked, volunteered to have my portrait done. Here’s the kicker: it’s for publication! The folks at Scale Down, the doctor-supervised diet program, have asked me to write up my story and have my portrait done at their expense. Here is the address for the national program: http://www.hmrprogram.com. It is a research-supported, well documented program that has helped me loose that 120 pounds and keep it off.

I’ll post the picture when I have my copy and my story. It was easier to write than I feared. I just considered it another blog post!

2 Comments

  1. Marsha said,

    July 24, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Congratulations!! I know it got hard some times, but wasn’t it all worth it. Job well done!1

  2. AlisonH said,

    July 24, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    My family did that boat ride and saw those formations when I was ten! Thank you for bringing back the memory! I don’t remember Fat Man’s Misery, but I remember the “Land of 10,000 Lakes” Minnesota license plates and asking my mom and dad if someone had actually counted them and had it come to such a nice, rounded number for real?

    Congratulations on the coming portrait!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

